NY Primary Election Results 2024 Update

June 26, 2024

Courtesy of our government relations consultants at Reid, McNally and Savage.

NY Primary Election Results

Primary Election Day in New York concluded yesterday, June 25 with polls closing at 9 p.m. 17 incumbent Assemblymembers and one incumbent Senator faced primary challenges. As well as many members in both houses are retiring or vacating their seats this year to run for other offices.

Below we have provided a brief outline of the primary outcomes which help establish general election candidates in November.

 Congressional Primary Election Results

There were a number of notable Congressional primaries in NY:

George Latimer Westchester County Executive won the 16th District Democratic primary over Representative Jamaal Bowman in a primary race that according to reports drew more ad spending than any other House primary in history;
State Senator John Mannion defeated Dewitt Councilor Sarah Klee Hood in Central New York in the 22nd District primary;
Claudia Tenney defeated Mario Fratto in a Western NY 24th Congressional District Republican primary. 

To view the full list of congressional primary election results please click here.

 Senate and Assembly Primary Election Results

With a number of retirements and other shakeups leaving seats open in the state Legislature. No part of the state is being left out: from Long Island to Rochester, Democrats are facing off either to determine the likely next state representative, or to move a candidate along to a competitive general election in November. Below please find some highlights from the Senate and Assembly primary races. 

Senate Primary Result Highlights:

Siela Bynoe (D-Westbury) a Nassau County Legislator defeated Assemblymember Taylor Darling (D-Hempstead) in the primary race to replace outgoing State Senator Kevin Thomas (D-Levittown) in New York State’s Sixth Senate District.

To view the full Senate primary results please click here.

Assembly  Primary Results Highlights:


Please find below the results from races in which incumbent Assembly members faced primary challenges for their seats yesterday and successfully won:

  • Assemblymember Jessica Gonzales-Rojas (D-34th District)
  •  Assemblymember Ron Kim (D- 40th District) 
  •  Assemblymember Emily Gallagher (D- 50th District) 
  •  Assemblymember Jo Anne Simon (D- 52nd District) 
  • Assemblymember Stefani Zinerman (D- 56th District) 
  • Assemblymember Edward Gibbs (D- 68th District)
  •  Assemblymember Al Taylor (D-71st District)
  • Assemblymember Manny De Los Santos (D-72nd District)
  • Assemblymember Landon Dais (D- 77th District)
  • Assemblymember Michael Benedetto (D- 82nd District)
  • Assemblymember Amanda Septimo (D-84th District)
  • Assemblymember Maryjane Shimsky (D- 92nd District)
  • Assemblymember Sarahana Shrestha (D- 103rd District)
  •  Assemblymember Didi Barrett (D- 106th District)
  • Assemblymember Demond Meeks (D- 137th District)
  • Assemblymember David DiPietro (R- 147th District)

Clair Valdez defeated Incumbent Assemblymember Juan Ardila (D- 37th District). 

Other Assembly Democratic Primary Races

  • Gabriella Romero an Albany Common Council member, won a six way crowded field for the 109thAssembly Democratic primary to succeed longtime Assemblywoman Pat Fahy ,who is running for the 46thSenate district seat.
  •  Chloe Pierce defeated  Kent Sopris in the 107th Assembly Democratic primary.
  •  Micha Lasher a former aide to Governor Kathy Hochul won the 69th Assembly Democratic primary five-candidate race to succeed Assemblymember Danny O’Donnell  who is retiring.
  •  The 18th Assembly District and the 102nd Assembly District Democratic Primary races have not yet been called

To view the full Assembly primary results please click here.